## **Special Board Meeting**

## January 23, 2020

Notice was posted for a Special Board meeting held on January 23, 2020 at 9:00 AM held at the town hall 2399-90<sup>th</sup> Ave. The purpose of the meeting was to "Draft a town employee evaluation form and procedure to be used for annual wage/benefit reviews and benchmark employee performance."

Chairman Douglas Veenendall called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM. Attendees: Supervisors Don L. Johnson and Joseph Kusilek, Treasurer, Ronda Helgeson, Clerk James Harer, guest: Terry Helgeson, Tom Olson, Tim Simmons, Brian Zimmerman and Roxanne Gerhardt.

A packet of information was handed out to all concerned parties. The packet included sample evaluation forms and draft town of Baldwin forms, grievance procedure, WTA legal opinions, job descriptions and work activity codes.

Chairman Douglas Veenendall requested that "at least two" be struck from Part Three of the Town of Baldwin evaluation draft.

The timeline: April 2020 for full approval of forms and procedures. October 2020 have employee evaluation completed by the entire board for Highway Maintenance person. November 2020 have newly implemented review form completed and used in annual employee review of wage and benefit package decisions.

The subject of conducting the evaluation and/or benefit review in Closed Session was discussed. Final agreement was this: Need for a Closed Session will be decided one month prior to employee evaluation or review so proper notices can be posted. Everyone was urged to review Closed Session guidelines.

Motion by Douglas Veenendall to not have a formal evaluation form for part-time town employees but have a job description for Collection and Hall attendant completed and approved by April. Seconded by Don L. Johnson. Carried.

Being no further business Douglas Veenendall moved to adjourn. Seconded by Don L. Johnson, carried.

Meeting adjourned at 9:45 AM.

| (Minutes approve             | (Minutes approved by board action on Feb. 6, 2020) |  |
|------------------------------|--|--|
|                              |  |  |
| Douglas Veenendall, Chairman | James Harer, Clerk                                 |  |